Mason Girls Track and Field Squad Runs Away with 10th Consecutive GMC Title


    Mason Comet Girls Track and Field 2017 GMC Champions

In dominating fashion, the Comet Girls Track and Field program continued their dominance over other     league schools, winning their 10th conference championship since entering the GMC in 2007-08. Like the Mason boys, the Comet girls continue to be a track and field powerhouse in the league and city. With Fridays GMC title, the girls have now equaled Princeton HS for the most league championships (10) in the history of GMC girls track and field. The Vikings last won the GMC in 1996.  

At Friday's league Championships, the girls team finished in the top three in almost every event to outscore 2nd place Lakota East 186.5 to 103.5.  It was an exciting night as Ellie Brush was named Runner of the Year, Amaya King was named Field Athlete of the Year, and Tony Affatato was named Coach of the Year. Overall an outstanding night for all!  The girls are excited to head into the District Championship next week!   

GMC Champions:   

4x 200 - Mariah Green, Maddie Ullom, Kaylie Connors, Jordan Dawson 

4x 800 - Lily Hallum, Nicki Baehre, Mackenzie Berryman, Faith Min  

1600 - Ellie Brush

800 - Ellie Brush

400 - Maddie Ullom

Discus - Amaya King   

Shot Put - Amaya King   

Pole Vault - Nicole Bagby

The Southwest District Championships are this Wednesday and Friday back at Mason's Atrium Stadium.  The Comet girls will be seeking an unprecedented 16th consecutive District title. Come out and cheer them on as they attempt to qualify for the Regional Championship in Dayton. The first four in each event qualify to the Regional Championships at Dayton's Welcome Stadium on Wednesday, May 24th and Friday, May 26th. 

(Photo and content compliments of Mason Sports Information Director, Dan Hilen)