Mason Girls Tennis Doiminant in GMC Title Run


The Comet Varsity Girls Tennis team dominated the 2017 GMC Championships this past Friday winning their third consecutive conference championship and fifth overall. The 2017 GMC title was Mason's Girls Tennis 5th overall as the Comets also won league championships in the 2007 and 2013 seasons. Mason swept the finals on Friday, winning on every court. See results below:

Kim d. Kalairasan(syc) 6-0, 6-0

Aggarwald. Silverberg(LE) 6-1, 6-1

Reddy d. Hoke (LE) 6-3, 6-0

N. Reid- A. Krused. Sotropa-Bolger (syc) 2-6, 6-3, 6-1

K. Reid- E. Krused. Wilson-Ringer (syc) 6-2, 6-2

All seven of Mason'splayers at the event earned 1st team All GMChonors. The Comet girls tennis machine is not only talented but also very young! Jamie Kim, Nicole Reid, and Annie Kruseare just freshman. Ananya Aggaraawal, Sanjana Reedy, Emma Kruseand, Kelly Reid are all sophomores. The future is very bright for Mason tennis!

Freshman Jamie Kim was named the GMC Player of the Year and Head Coach Mike Reid was chosen as the GMC Coach of the Year. This was Coach Reid's 2nd COY honor for the girls team and was also the boys COY last spring. 

Congratulations to all the players and coaches for an outstanding GMC accomplishment!

Next up the team will play a match at Springborotoday, Monday, Oct. 2nd. 

The Comet girls tennis team postseason gets started on Thursday, Oct. 5th at the OHSAASouthwest Sectional at Mason. Qualifiers from each Sectional to District will be four singles and four doubles in Division I.

GMC Tennis Champions - Mason Comets

(Photo and article content compliments of Mason Sports Information Director Dan Hilen)