Mason Wrestling Pins Down Ninth Straight GMC Title


Even though the Mason Comets nailed down a ninth straight GMC Wrestling Title, it did not come easy. The Fairfield Indians and Princeton Vikings brought their "A game" and made things very interesting. Mason's team depth was again the deciding factor as the Comets totaled 5 weight class champions and 3 second place finishers out of 14 total classes. The Fairfield Indians brought home 3 weight class champions, while the Princeton Vikings had 1 weight class champion to go with 4 runner-up placers.

Final scores were:  Mason 223, Fairfield 175, Princeton 139, Oak Hills 97, Colerain 67, Sycamore 62.5, Lakota West 55.5, Lakota East 50, Middletown 45.5, Hamilton 16.

(Baums Page GMC Championship Results)

DICK'S Sporting Goods GMC Wrestler of the Year as selected by the GMC coaches: Zach Shupp from Fairfield, a four-time GMC Champion!

DICK'S Sporting Goods GMC Wrestling Coach of the Year honors went to Princeton's Ty Robbins, who was also selected in a vote of his GMC coaching peers.