Mason Baseball Captures Second Consecutive GMC Title


   Photo and article content compliments of Mason Sports Information Director, Dan Hilen

GMC Champions - Mason Comets

An outright GMC title was on the line for the Mason Baseball team on a beautiful Monday afternoon. It was also Senior Day as the Comets hosted Sycamore.  Coach Bly sent an all-senior lineup on to the field in this critical game and, as usual, his seniors rose to the occasion. 
The Comets would not be denied on this day as they handily defeated Sycamore 11-1 in six innings to claim their second consecutive conference title.  Mason's only loss in the league this season came at the hands of Lakota East. In this year's final GMC standings, the Comets and Hawks were "neck-and-neck" and split their regular season series. 
This is the 2nd time the team has won the league trophy in back-to-back style, securing the program's fifth overall GMC title. The Comets have now won the GMC in 2012, 2013, 2016 (shared with Fairfield), 2018, and 2019. 
Dade Hensley, whose season ended early this year due to injury, got the start on the mound for the Comets - and received a warm reception from the crowd and his teammates as he exited prior to the first pitch of the game. 
 Evan Kemp (8-1)  got the win in relief, pitching the first four innings.  Kemp did not allow an earned run and  struck out six.  Tyler Bockerstette and Chris Burke each pitched a solid inning in relief.  Mason jumped out to an early 6-0 lead in this game and never looked back.  Leaders on offense today included:
 Ryan Evans:  2 for 4, 2 RBI's
 Jacob Weekley:  double
 Joe Powell:  2 for 3, 3 RBI's
 J.P. Sponseller:  2 for 2, triple, 2 BB's, 2     RBI's
Mason has two remaining non-conference away games on their schedule---at Springboro today, May 7th and at Centerville (@ Wright State) on Thursday, May 9th. 
Mason (22-3, 17-1) received the #1 seed in the upcoming OHSAA Division 1 Sectional. Their first game will be Thursday, May 16 at home vs. the winner of the Middletown/Western Brown contest. Game time is 5:00 pm.