Mason Takes Third Consecutive GMC Boys Tennis Title


Photo and article content compliments of Mason Sports Information Director, Dan Hilen

Mason Comets - GMC Champions

The Mason Boys Tennis Team overcame a determined Sycamore squad to win the GMC on Monday afternoon at the Comet tennis facility. Mason won all three singles matches while the Aves won both doubles matches. See the final scores below:

1s Komatineni (Mason) d. Miller (Sycamore) 6-3, 6-2

2s Gangavaram (Mason) d. Marcus (Sycamore) 6-4, 7-6 (2)

3s Gogineni (Mason) d. Dong (Sycamore) 6-0, 6-1

1d M. Karev-Bolger (Sycamore) d. Zutshi-Joshi 
(Mason) 4-6, 6-4, 6-4

2d Wittenbaum-Wade (Sycamore) d. Viswanathan-King
(Mason) 6-4, 4-6, 7-5

The Comets went 9-0 in the GMC regular season and currently are undefeated with an overall record of 15-0. This is Mason's fifth overall title in the GMC; 2012, 2013, 2017, 2018 and 2019. 

For the third consecutive year Mason senior, Niraj Komatineni, was named the GMC Player of the Year. Comet Head Coach Mike Reid was also named the GMC Coach of the Year for the third straight time. 

Next up for the Comets is the OHSAA Sectional at the Mason Tennis Courts on Wednesday, May 8th with
finals on Saturday, May 11th. 

Qualifications from the Sectional to the District Tournament will be four (4) singles and four (4) doubles in both Division I and II. Qualifiers in Division I to State meet will be four (4) singles and four (4) doubles. Qualifiers in Divisions II to State meet will be four (4) singles and four (4) doubles. 

Mason will continue their quest for another state title when they meet St. Xavier in the Southwest
District semi-finals on Tuesday, May 14th at St. X. The winner will play Sycamore for a trip to the State Final Four.